Political Speakers' Series with Club member Kimon Valaskakis for a presentation on

Political Speakers' Series with Kimon Valaskakis

Tuesday, May 26


$25 plus taxes and administration fees - Canapés included | Cocktails by cash or credit card.

Cocktail begins at 5 p.m. and the presentation at 5:45 p.m.

Dress code: Business casual

Reservation: To make a reservation, please contact our receptionists at 514-288-0201 or by email at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. . A credit card is required at the time of reservation. 

Location: The University Club of Montreal - 2047 Mansfield Street
 
REINVENTING THE ‘WEST’: A Global Imperative?
 
The Geographical West (basically the Europe-Americas Region) accounts for half the world economy. The Western Model which extends beyond the Geographical West includes various versions of capitalism, democracy, socialism (also a Western invention), the rule of law, the secular state, the ‘Westphalian’ sovereignty system etc. 
 
In fact, the Western Model is presently the dominant world system. 
 
It is now in need of ‘reinvention’. Although it has contributed to the positive development of modern civilization, it is currently beset by structural crises which must be dealt with. These include socioeconomic challenges such as inequality and unemployment, governance issues (role of the state and dysfunctional democracy) and new values and identity. In addition, external threats (Isis, Russia), climate change and internal fragmentation (separatism, etc.) make such a reinvention not only a regional but a global imperative. 
 
Dr. Valaskakis will outline both the urgency of such a reinvention and how it can be brought about.
Overall, Dr. Valaskakis has pursued four converging career paths. He has been an academic, an executive, a consultant and a diplomat. Holding a Ph.D. in Economics from Cornell University and a French law degree, his academic career has encompassed 30 years of teaching at the University of Montreal and other universities in Canada and in Europe. As an executive, he has headed the GAMMA INSTITUTE, an international think tank, specialized in forecasting and planning studies and has directed major research projects for Canadian governments and for international organizations, in addition to his executive responsibilities as Canadian ambassador. His consulting experience involved being the Chairman of ISOGROUP CONSULTANTS an international strategy firm
preparing strategic plans for major multinational firms. Finally his diplomatic experience has centered on his position as Canadian ambassador and the spin-off activities it has generated.

© Copyright 2020 University Club of Montreal. All rights reserved. | Website conception & realisation by HPJ. Powered by memboGo.

Série des Orateurs Politiques avec membre du Club Kimon Valaskakis pour une allocution sur " RÉINVENTONS L’OCCIDENT : une priorité mondiale" (Coquetel)

Série des Orateurs Politiques avec Kimon Valaskakis

Le mardi 26 mai


25 $ plus taxes et frais d'administration - Canapés inclus | Coquetels payé comptant ou par carte de crédit.

Coquetel à 17 h - La présentation débutera à 17 h 45

Code vestimentaire: Tenue d’affaires décontractée

Enregistrement: Pour faire vos réservations, communiquez avec les réceptionnistes au 514-288-0201 ou par courriel à Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser. . Une carte de crédit est requise lors de l’enregistrement.
Endroit: Le Club Universitaire de Montréal - 2047, Rue Mansfield
   

RÉINVENTONS « L’OCCIDENT » : est-ce un impératif mondial?
 
L’ouest géographique, soit la région Europe-Amérique, représente la moitié de l’économie mondiale. Le modèle de l’ouest qui s’étend au delà de l’ouest géographique comprend plusieurs versions du capitalisme, de la démocratie et du socialisme (une invention de l’ouest, d’ailleurs) la primauté du droit, la laïcité de l’État, l’inviolabilité de la souveraineté nationale des traités wetphaliens, etc. 
 
En fait, le modèle de l’ouest est actuellement le système économique mondial dominant. 
 
Notre système a besoin d’être réinventé. Bien que il ait contribué au développement de la civilisation moderne, il se trouve présentement dans un état de crise structurelle qui doit être affrontée. Celle-ci comprend des défis socio-économiques comme l’inégalité et le chômage, des questions de gouvernance telles que le rôle de l’État et la démocratie dysfonctionnelle, les nouvelles valeurs et l’identité nationale. En outre, les menaces externes (ISIS, Russie), les changements climatiques et la fragmentation interne (séparatisme, etc.) font que cette réinvention nécessaire au niveau régional, devient également un impératif mondial.
 
Dr. Valaskakis parlera à la fois de l’urgence d’une telle réinvention et présentera des moyens de la provoquer.
 
La carrière de Kimon Valaskakis s’inscrit dans quatre différences convergentes. Il a été universitaire, administrateur, consultant et diplomate. Muni d’un doctorat en économie de l’Université Cornell et d’un diplôme en droit français, sa carrière académique s’étend sur 30 ans d’enseignement à l’Université de Montréal et dans d’autres universités canadiennes et européennes. Comme cadre supérieur, il a dirigé l’Institut GAMMA, un groupe de réflexion international, qui se spécialise dans l’étude de l'analyse et la planification et il a complété la majorité de ses projets en recherche pour le compte du gouvernement canadien et des organisations internationale, en plus de ses responsabilités d’ambassadeur du Canada. Sa carrière de consultant était en tant que président de la «ISOGROUP CONSULTANTS », une compagnie de stratégie internationale qui bâtit des planifications stratégiques pour des compagnies internationales. Finalement, son expérience en diplomatie s’est concentrée sur son poste d’ambassadeur du Canada et sur les activités dérivées qu’il a générées.

© Copyright 2020 University Club of Montreal. Tous droits réservés. | Conception web & Réalisation du site Internet par HPJ. Propulsé par memboGo.