IN THE STYLE OF DRAGON'S DEN STYLE - THE PERFECT PITCH SERIES - THE UNIVERSITY CLUB OF MONTREAL’S FIRST ANNUAL START-UP EVENT

The University Club of Montreal is pleased to launch a unique event taking place at the Club on March 24 from 5.00 p.m. to 7.30 p.m.

Four Montreal startup companies are pitching for investment dollars before a panel of three highly qualified judges/investors.

In his new book, “Moonshot”,  entrepreneur John Scully, former CEO of Pepsi and Apple, stated:
 
“We are in a new era of digital technology that will increasingly be about machine learning systems and machine-to-machine communication, with no human intervention required. The scale of customer data processing in the Cloud will be so massive that the customer will have immediate information and individual power on an unprecedented level…. We are experiencing a tsunami of exponentially expanding technologies never seen before: cloud computing, wireless sensors, big data, and mobile devices….Computers have leaped from productivity tools to intelligent personal assistants, using machine learning and advanced data science.”
 
Over the last 5 years, startups have become an increasingly important economic motor for Montreal. This has been encouraged by a significant increase in angel financing from both institutional and private sources. Many leading U.S. venture capital companies have provided  later-stage financing. A number of these companies have been acquired at multiples of their original angel investment.        
                                                    
We encourage you to attend our March 24 “The Perfect Pitch” Event – determine for yourself if there is one or more future “winners” presenting, and, at the same time, gain first-hand exposure to how these companies capitalize on new technology to launch real businesses, while requiring only a limited amount of capital.

This event has been organized by Paul Lowenstein, Thomas Sychterz and Inder Arya, members of the University Club of Montreal.  
 
THE START-UPS

An interactive co-creation platform that enables companies to aggregate quantitative and qualitative feedback in order to launch products that fit market needs. It empowers businesses who have never properly harnessed the web’s power and also gives the ability to validate the product choices and talk with a mass of consumers interested in the product. 
 
 


A Montreal startup that contributes to the construction of smart neighborhoods. The concept is simple: to enable citizens to choose the next shops that move into the vacant space in their neighborhood. Potloc’s mission is to help, entrepreneurs find the perfect location for their new business and homeowners to rent their vacant premises.
 





Provides air support for emergency intervention teams using unmanned aerial vehicles (drones). It captures technical data from the sky that civil safety services (firefighters, police officers, emergency cells) can’t access from the ground. The technical data may vary between HD imagery, thermal imagery, gas detection as well as sound emission and reception.
 
 

A Montreal based start-up that is working on creating the perfect pair of custom quick-fitting Bluetooth earphones. They will be able to mold to the ear in seconds, and everything will be controlled by a free mobile app! Comfort and sound quality are both priorities and the company is using some of the most advanced technology to ensure that these are the best earphones on the market at an affordable price.
 

 

THE JUDGES / INVESTORS

Mohannad El-Barachi
 

Mohannad El-Barachi is Co-Founder and CEO at the Montreal-based company SweetIQ. A veteran of all things web, he has over 15 years of experience in cloud services architecture and technology expertise. His unique approach in taking a data-driven methodology to online marketing has allowed SweetIQ to become the leading location-based marketing platform, powering major brands like FedEx, Bell Canada, and General Motors to drive in-store foot traffic through online local search. Sweet IQ's leading financial backer is Real Ventures.
 
 
Guthrie Stewart
 
Mr. Stewart has a large experience in private equity and venture investing, acquisitions and corporate governance. Until 2008 was a partner of EdgeStone Capital. He is currently active on a number of public and private boards and advisory boards – including Tandem Expansion and Real Ventures. Member of the Faculty Advisory Board and an Adjunct Professor of the McGill Desautels Faculty of Management, more recently he became a certified business coach through Columbia University.
 

Steven Shelton
 
After 25 years in the financial market industry with half of his career with Goldman Sachs, today he is the founder of KSKS Partners Inc., President & CEO of KSKS Sports Collectibles Inc., President & CEO of KSKS Real Estate Holdings Inc., President & CEO of KSKS Healthcare Technology Fund Inc., whose goal is to invest in over 10 startups, and President & CEO of MySeat.com Media, the new Sports Social Network. Mr Shelton is an executive of Anges Quebec.
 
 

Tuesday, March 24 - 5 p.m. to 7:30 p.m.
The presentaotins will begin at 5:45 p.m.
Cocktails by « Chit » or credit card
The media will be present
Please register online. 
For more information, please contact our receptionists at 514-288-0201 or by email at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
 



 

© Copyright 2020 University Club of Montreal. All rights reserved. | Website conception & realisation by HPJ. Powered by memboGo.

À LA MANIÈRE DES DRAGONS - LA SÉRIE DU «PITCH» PARFAIT - PREMIER ÉVÉNEMENT ANNUAL DES ENTREPRISES EN DÉMARRAGE DU CLUB UNIVERSITAIRE DE MONTRÉAL

Le Club universitaire de Montréal est fier de lancer un événement unique qui aura lieu au Club le 24 mars 2015 de 17 h à 19 h 30.
 
Quatre entreprises en démarrage de Montréal feront leur «pitchs» à un panel de trois juges-investisseurs hautement qualifiés. Leur but : que les juges investissent! .
 
Dans son nouveau livre, "Moonshot", l'entrepreneur John Scully, ancien PDG de Pepsi et Apple, a déclaré:
 
"Nous sommes dans une ère nouvelle de technologie numérique qui sera d’avantage axée sur les systèmes d'apprentissage automatique et les communications machine-à-machine, sans la nécessité d’intervention humaine … L’ordinateur, jadis un outil de productivité est devenu un secrétaire particulier, utilisant les systèmes d'apprentissage automatiques et des sciences des données avancées.”
 
Au cours des 5 dernières années, les entreprises en démarrage sont devenues un moteur économique de plus en plus important pour Montréal, notamment raison d’une augmentation significative du financement provenant de sources tant institutionnelles que privées. De nombreuses sociétés de capital de risque américaines ont accordé un financement de stade avancé à ces entreprises et certaines de ces dernières ont été acquises pour un montant bien plus important que leur investissement initial.
 
Nous vous encourageons à participer à notre coquetel du 24 mars dans le cadre de notre série du "pitch" parfait. Choisissez vos propres  gagnants, et, par la même occasion, apprenez comment ces entreprises exploitent les nouvelles technologies pour lancer un projet d’affaires avec peu de capital.
 
Cet événement est organisé par Paul Lowenstein, Thomas Sychterz et Inder Arya, membres du Club universitaire de Montréal.

LES START-UPS

Launchleap est une plateforme en ligne de co-création qui permet aux entreprises de recueillir les avis des consommateurs et d’interagir avec eux, afin de concevoir des produits qui répondent aux besoins du marché. La plateforme devient un outil fort intéressant pour les entreprises qui n'ont jamais pris avantage de la puissance du web en leur permettant de dialoguer d'une façon novatrice et simple avec leur clientèle.
 


Une start-up montréalaise qui contribue à la construction de quartiers intelligents. Le concept est simple: permettre aux citoyens de choisir les prochains commerces qui s’installeront dans les locaux vacants de leur quartier. La mission de Potloc est d’aider, à la fois, les entrepreneurs à trouver l’emplacement idéal pour leur nouveau commerce et les propriétaires à louer leurs locaux vacants. 
 




Fournit un appui aérien pour les équipes d'intervention d'urgence au moyen de véhicules aériens sans pilote (drones). Il capte des airs les données techniques auxquelles les services de sécurité civile (pompiers, policiers, cellules d'urgence) ne peuvent pas accéder à partir du sol. Les données techniques peuvent varier entre image HD, l'image thermique, la détection de gaz ainsi que l’émission et la réception de sons.
 

Une « start-up » montréalaise qui développe des écouteurs adaptables personnalisés « bluetooth ». Le confort et la qualité du son étant les priorités, les écouteurs se mouleront aux oreilles dans quelques secondes et seront contrôlés par une application de cellulaire ! L’entreprise utilise les technologies les plus avancées pour produire les meilleurs écouteurs sur le marché à un prix abordable.
 
 

LES JUGES / INVESTISSEURS

Mohannad El-Barachi
 

Mohannad El - Barachi est co-fondateur et est à la tête de SweetIQ, une compagnie basée à Montréal. Au-delà de 15 ans d’expérience en architecture de services nuagiques, en plus d’une vaste expertise dans les technologies. Grâce à son approche unique du marketing en ligne axée sur les données, SweetIQ est devenue la première plateforme en importance en marketing par emplacement et sert de grandes marques comme FedEx, Bell Canada et General Motors en générant de l’achalandage grâce à la recherche ciblée en ligne. 
 
Guthrie Stewart
 
M. Stewart possède une vaste expérience en matière de capital privé et de capital de risque, d’acquisitions et de gouvernance d’entreprise. Jusqu’à 2008, il a été associé chez  l’EdgeStone Capital. Il siège actuellement à différents conseils d’administration et conseils consultatifs publics et privés, y compris Tandem Expansion et Real Ventures. Membre du conseil consultatif de la faculté et professeur titulaire de la Faculté de gestion Desautels de l’Université McGill, il est certifié mentor d’affaires (certified business coach) de l’Université Columbia.
 
Steven Shelton
 
Après 25 ans dans l’industrie financière, dont la moitié de sa carrière chez Goldman Sachs, il est aujourd’hui le fondateur de KSK Partners Inc., président et directeur général chez KSKS Sports Colletibles Inc., Pdg chez Real Estate Holdings Inc., Pdg chez KSKS Healthcare Technology Fund Inc, dont l’objectif est d’investir dans plus de 10 startups, et Pdg de MySeat.com Media, le nouveau réseau social du sport. M. Shelton est membre d’Anges Québec.
 

Mardi 24 mars - 17 h à 19 h 30
Les présentations commencent à 17 h 45
Coquetel par « Chit » ou carte de crédit
La presse sera présente
Veuillez vous enregistrer en ligne.
Pour plus d'information, contactez nos réceptionnistes au 514-288-0201 ou par courriel à Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.
 



 

© Copyright 2020 University Club of Montreal. Tous droits réservés. | Conception web & Réalisation du site Internet par HPJ. Propulsé par memboGo.